Home / rushmore financial / Mount Rushmore Society Annual Report

Mount Rushmore Society Annual Report - rushmore financial

Mount Rushmore Society Annual Report-rushmore financial

Mount Rushmore Society
October 1, 2013 through September 30, 2014
Annual Report
The Mo
unt Rushmore Team
Mount Rushmore Society Board of Directors
Andy Knight, President | Ruth Samuelsen, Past President | Judy Allen, Vice President
Leroy Ketel, Treasurer | Tim Raben, Secretary | Roxann Basham | Gary Brown | Joe Bruch | Justin Cutler
Mike Derby* | Judy Olson Duhamel | Dr. Sidney Goss* | Nancy Gowen* | Tom Griffith* | Bill Honerkamp | Al Johnson*
Kay Jorgensen | Phil Lampert | Gene Lebrun | Michelle Lintz | Toni Logar | Rollie Noem
*emeritus directors
Mount Rushmore Bookstore Committee
Justin Cutler, Chair | Eileen Rossow, Vice Chair | Marnie Herrmann, Treasurer | Joe Bruch, Secretary | Eileen Fleishacker
Pam Fritz | Nancy Gowen | Maryann Jacob | Barb Knight | Gene Lebrun | Ruth Samuelsen | Jan Sohl | Terry Whiting
National Park Service
Cheryl Schreier, Superintendent
Diana Nielsen Saathoff, Executive Director | Lynn Bauter, Finance Director | Bob Dominicak, Parking Division Manager
Laura Jones, Retail Manager | Gary Keller, Development Director | Debbie Moses Ketel, Communications Director
Wade Lampert, Retail Manager | Cindy Mayes, Special Projects Coordinator | Anna Raue, Office Manager
Deb Rudolph, Retail Manager | Kim Taylor, Administrative Assistant
Presidential Parking, Inc.
Bob Mudlin and Sheila Mudlin
Mount Rushmore Society: PO Box 1524 | Rapid City, SD | 57709
711 North Creek Dr. | Rapid City, SD 57703 | 605-341-8883 | info@mtrushmore.org
Mount Rushmore Bookstores and Mount Rushmore Audio Tour: 13036 Hwy 244 | Keystone, SD 57751 | 1-800-574-3142
Mount Rushmore Memories: PO Box 90 | 263 Main St. | Hill City, SD 57745 | 605-385-0251 | memories@mtrushmore.org
Society activities for calendar year 2014 are detailed within, while board listings and financials reflect the FY 2013/2014 year.
Cover Photo: Shutterstock | Inside Cover Photo: Rodger Slott | All other photos within are photos taken by Society staff
The YTeheaYreariinnRevRiew eview
There is no such thing as a self-made man or organization . . . Rapid City for a $5,000 grant. Major donors like these will be
you can reach your goals only with the help of others. recognized this spring with their names carved in granite on
the donor wall located on the Grand View Terrace.
This statement is certainly applicable to the Society's premier
fundraising project over the past several years--the Youth With the onset of the new year, it is time to recognize and
Exploration Area shelter (YEA). When constructed, this shelter celebrate the successes that are enumerated in this annual
will serve as a multi-use facility for not only the "kid-friendly" report. Above all, we have a strong and exceptional board and
youth programs sponsored by the National Park Service but staff. All are outstanding and dedicated to the preservation,
other special events held at Mount Rushmore. promotion, enhancement and protection of Mount Rushmore.
Words can not express my gratitude for the opportunity to
We had great donor support from all over the country. The serve as your Society president for the past two years. I am
Society was successful in raising $396,000 for the YEA, and very excited about the accomplishments we have had in the
construction is expected to begin in the spring of 2015. last year, and I am sure we have made decisions that will
sustain our organization and enhance the visitor experience
A special thank you goes to our major donors: National Park for many years to come. Thanks for all you contribute.
Foundation for their "Legacy Project" Grant of $100,000;
Black Hills Corporation for their Foundation Grant of $25,000; Best Regards,
The Adams-Mastrovich Family Foundation, Mary Mastrovich Andy Knight, President
Adams for their grants totaling $25,000; the South Dakota Diana Nielsen Saathoff, Executive Director
Community Foundation "Dakota Fund" Grant for $10,000; one
anonymous donor for $10,000; and Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.
Below: Pictured l-r at the Youth Exploration Area ground breaking: Superintendent Cheryl Schreier; Emeritus Society Board Member Nancy
Gowen; Society Board Member Gene Lebrun; Society President Andy Knight; Buddy Seiner of South Dakota Community Foundation; Mike
Rodman of the Grand Lodge of the Masons of South Dakota; Marsha Nichols of Black Hills Power; Chief of Interpretation and Education
Maureen McGee-Ballinger.